2020 Public Humanities Award & Beacon Award

Save the date! Thursday, May 21, 2020

Join Illinois Humanities as we honor Sylvia Ewing, Eve L. Ewing, and Weinberg/Newton Gallery.

Public Humanities Award Luncheon
Thursday, May 21, 2020
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
505 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago
Doors open at 11 AM

Established in 1984, the Public Humanities Award luncheon celebrates people who have made an indelible impact on our state through their work in and support of the humanities. This event is Illinois Humanities most important annual fundraiser and enables us to provide free public humanities programs and grants across the state.

The 2020 Public Humanities Award will be presented to mother/daughter duo—Sylvia Ewing and Eve L. Ewing. The inaugural Beacon Award will recognize Weinberg/Newton Gallery founded by life-long Illinoisans, advocates, and philanthropists, David Weinberg and Jerry Newton.

About Sylvia Ewing and Eve L. Ewing

Sylvia Ewing, an award-winning former journalist affiliated with several media outlets. She has used her considerable communications skills to develop affordable accessible housing and worked for positive change in reproductive rights, and public education. She continues to produce cultural events for the Chicago Public Library, the Poetry Foundation and others to build community and inspire action.

Eve L. Ewing is a professor at the University of Chicago School of Social Service Administration where her teaching and research focus on race and education. She is also an award-winning author of three books as well as multiple projects for Marvel Comics.

About the Weinberg/Newton Gallery

David Weinberg and Jerry Newton founded Weinberg/Newton Gallery to create space for dialogue about the many social justice issues that concern our local Chicago community and beyond.

Complete the online sponsorship form or download and complete the PDF sponsorship form.

NOTE: Sponsorships received by March 15, 2020 will be recognized in the invitation and in the program booklet if received by May 1, 2020.

For information about the Public Humanities Award and Beacon Award including sponsorship opportunities for #PHA20, please contact Magda Slowik at magdalena.slowik@ilhumanities.org or (312) 422-5584.

Past Public Humanities Award Recipients

  • 2019 – Cheryl Lynn Bruce and Kerry James Marshall

  • 2018 – Danielle Allen and Mannie Jackson

  • 2017 – Jeanne Gang

  • 2016 – Dr. Walter E. Massey

  • 2015 – Howard Tullman

  • 2014 – Jay Franke and David Herro

  • 2013 – Lisa Yun Lee

  • 2012 – Bruce Sagan and Bette Cerf Hill

  • 2011  – John A. Wing

  • 2010 – Anna Eleanor Roosevelt

  • 2008 – Carlos Tortolero

  • 2007 – Barbara Gaines

  • 2006 – Mary A. Dempsey

  • 2005 – The Honorable Abner and Zoe Mikva

  • 1994 – Martin E. Marty, Stanley J. Ikenberry, Richard J. Franke, Chicago Tribune

  • 1993 – Francis J. Pettis

  • 1992 – Nancy Anderson Stevenson

  • 1990 – Bridget Lamont

  • 1989 – Cyrus Colter

  • 1988 – Brena and Lee Freeman

  • 1987 – The Honorable Dawn Clark Netsch and Walter Netsch

  • 1986 – Mary Ward Wolkonsky

  • 1985 – J. Michael Lennon

  • 1984 – John Hope Franklin, Stuart Steuver, The Honorable Jim Edgar, The Honorable Paul Simon, The Honorable Sidney Yates, Louise Año Nuevo Kerr