Gwendolyn Brooks Youth Poetry Awards 2019

Welcome to the third annual Gwendolyn Brooks Youth Poetry Awards!

Illinois Humanities and the Poetry Foundation are partnering in 2019 to host this year’s Gwendolyn Brooks Youth Poetry Awards.

Here are the basics on this year’s contest:

  • The contest was open to young people from Kindergarten through 12th grade across the state of Illinois.
  • We received over 260 submissions from students at schools (public, private, home, etc.) or other institutions representing 43 cities and towns and 14 counties in Illinois.
  • Contest winners will be notified by July 15, 2019.
  • Winners will be honored at an event to take place at the Poetry Foundation (61 W Superior St) on Saturday, August 10, 2019 from 1:00-3:00 PM.

The winners have been announced! View the list of 2019 winning poems by grade below: 

Gwendolyn Brooks Youth Poetry Awards 2018

Below is a listing of the winners and honorable mentions, along with a listing of their poems.

Gwendolyn Brooks Youth Poetry Awards 2017

In 2017 Illinois Humanities partnered with Our Miss Brooks 100 and the Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts to revitalize the Gwendolyn Brooks Youth Poetry Awards.

Read the 2017 winning poems.

Read the 2017 honorable mentions poems.

View a recap of the 2017 Awards Ceremony.

Learn more about the history of the Gwendolyn Brook Youth Poetry Awards.

The 2017 Gwendolyn Brooks Youth Poetry awards was funded in part by The Chicago Community Trust, the Lloyd A. Fry Foundation, and the Poetry Foundation.