Past Event

View the Recording, Bid on an Auction Item, Make a Gift:

Bid on an auction item   Support us by making a gift today  Text IH TO 243725 To Give

Illinois Humanities has transformed our 2020 Public Humanities Award Luncheon into a virtual, free, state-wide event.

Please join us for a high-energy, one-hour virtual show with performances, stories, an online auction, and an intimate conversation with the awardees on May 21st starting at 12:00 PM. The event, our most important fundraiser and celebration of the year, will be free to all who want to support Illinois Humanities and honor awardees Sylvia Ewing, Eve L. Ewing, and Weinberg/Newton Gallery.

Our Auction Out LOUD! is now LIVE!



PHA20 Award Recipients Sylvia Ewing and Eve L. Ewing

Sylvia Ewing is a nonprofit executive at Elevate Energy and award-winning former journalist who was affiliated with WBEZ, WTTW and other media outlets. She has used her considerable communications skills to develop affordable accessible housing and work for positive change in reproductive rights and public education. She continues to produce cultural events for the Chicago Public Library, the Poetry Foundation and others to build community and inspire action.

Dr. Eve L. Ewing is a sociologist and professor at the University of Chicago School of Social Service Administration where her teaching and research focus on race and education. A prolific writer, she is the author of four books, including the forthcoming Maya and the Robot, the poetry collection 1919, Ghosts in the Schoolyard: Racism and School Closings on Chicago’s South Side, and the award-winning debut poetry collection Electric Arches. She also currently writes the Champions series for Marvel Comics and previously wrote the acclaimed Ironheart series, as well as other Marvel projects.



Images of PHA20 Beacon Award Recipient Weinberg/Newton Gallery

David Weinberg and Jerry Newton founded Weinberg/Newton Gallery to create a space for dialogue about the many social justice issues that concern our local Chicago community and beyond. Learn more about Weinberg/Newton Gallery at


Bid on an auction item   Support us by making a gift today  Text IH TO 243725 To Give


  • Jhmira Alexander
  • Danielle S. Allen*
  • Daniel Ash
  • Bill Ayers and Bernardine Dohrn
  • Stacey Ellen Baygood Streur*
  • John S. Bracken*
  • Andrew Broy
  • H.O. Brownback*
  • Dale T. Chapman*
  • Teresa L. Cordova*
  • Susan Eleuterio and Thomas Sourlis
  • Susan Eleuterio*
  • Deborah Epstein*
  • First Lady Amy Eshleman
  • Anne Evens
  • Maria L. Finitzo*
  • Virginia C. Gerst*
  • Dedrea and Paul Gray
  • Juana Guzman*
  • Alton B. Harris*
  • Jane A. Hays*
  • J. Paul Hunter*
  • Mae P. Hong*
  • Alison Jack
  • Lowell Jaffe* and Sam Yingling
  • Eric Johnson and Anissa Listak
  • Paula R. Kahn
  • Mea Konopasek*
  • Lisa Lee and Adam Bush
  • Gabrielle Lyon
  • Susan Manning*
  • Verett A. Mims*
  • William M. Patterson*
  • Alyssa Rapp*
  • Sendhil Revuluri and Venu Gupta
  • Esther Saks
  • Jane M. Saks and Emma Ruby-Sachs
  • Gail Shiel-Mahoney* and George Mahoney
  • Isaac and Ava Stanley
  • Roger and Anne Taylor
  • Liz Thompson
  • Laura Washington
  • Jai L. Winston*
  • Jennifer Wirtz *
  • David Woolwine*

*Denotes Illinois Humanities Board of Directors member


Bid on an auction item   Support us by making a gift today  Text IH TO 243725 To Give

For information about the Public Humanities Award and Beacon Award including sponsorship and giving opportunities for #PHA20, please contact Magda Slowik at or (312) 422-5584.

#ILHumanitiesAtHome #PHA20